Advisory Board

Regular Meetings

  • 2:00 p.m.
  • 3rd Thursday of every other month
    (Jan, Mar, May, July, September, and November)
  • Main Library/Jacksonville
    58 Doris Avenue East
    Jacksonville, NC 28540


The Onslow County Public Library (OCPL) is a department of Onslow County Government. There are ten members of the Library Advisory Board who are each appointed by the Onslow County Board of Commissioners for three year, staggered terms. There is at least one Board member representing the following townships or constituencies: Jacksonville, Richlands, Swansboro, White Oak, Stump Sound, Military, Retired Persons, and Minorities. There are two At-Large members.

The Onslow County Public Library Advisory Board serve as advisors of library policy to the commissioners. Bimonthly meetings are held on the third Thursday of January, March, May, July, September and November in the Main Library Meeting Room.


View the Library Advisory Board By-Laws (PDF).

Apply for the Onslow County Public Library Advisory Board

Want to be involved and play an important role in your community? Want to develop a better understanding of county government? Are you interested in being an ambassador for your county library system? Then put your experience and skills to great use, volunteer to be an OCPL Advisory Board member. 
Please note you must be a registered voter in Onslow County in order to be eligible for a vacancy. Print and complete a Citizen Participation Application (PDF) for Onslow County Advisory Boards and Commissions. 

Advisory Board

Beth Purcell, Chairperson & Military/Civilian Trustee
25 Burton Place
Jacksonville, NC 28540
Nivedita Mittal, Jacksonville Trustee
1105 Greenway Dr.
Jacksonville, NC  28546
Diana King Barnes, Vice-Chair & Richlands Trustee
602 Francktown Rd.
Richlands, NC 28574
Elaine Bixiones, White Oak Trustee
211 Creedmoor Rd
Jacksonville, NC 28546
Sheila Josilevich, Secretary & Retired Trustee
198 Peninsula Manor Rd
Hubert, NC 28539
Elizabeth Raynor, At Large Trustee
266 Nelson Park Rd
Maple Hill, NC2845
Peggie Garner, Stump Sound Trustee
185 Hill Lane
Sneads Ferry, NC 28460
Rich Gwyn, At Large Trustee
153 Peytons Ridge Rd
Hubert, NC 28539
Pamela Thornton,  Swansboro Trustee
113 White Swan Way
Swansboro, NC 28584
Darlene Johnson, Minority Representative
208 Valley Ridge Lane
Jacksonville, NC  28540

 Email Library Advisory Board