Holidays and Leave

Holidays


The following holidays are approved by the Board of Commissioners to be observed by Onslow County Government in Fiscal Year 2016-2017 and are counted as hours worked for permanent employees working 20 hours or more per week:
  • Independence Day - Monday, July 4, 2016
  • Labor Day - Monday, September 5, 2016
  • Veterans Day - Friday, November 11, 2016
  • Thanksgiving -Thursday, November 24, 2016 and Friday, November 25, 2016
  • Christmas - Friday, December 23, 2016, and Monday, December 26, 2016
  • New Year's Day - Monday, January 2, 2017
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Monday, January 16, 2017
  • Good Friday - Friday, April 14, 2017
  • Memorial Day - Monday, May 29, 2017

Vacation Leave


Any regular full-time employee shall earn vacation leave at the following rates:

Years of Continuous Service


Hours Earned Each Pay Period


Hours Earned In One Year


Less than 5 years


4.5 hrs


117 hrs


5 but less than 10 years


5.0 hrs


130 hrs


10 but less than 15 years


6.0 hrs


156 hrs


15 but less than 20 years


6.5 hrs


169 hrs


20 years or more


7.0 hrs


182 hrs


Regular part-time employees who work 20 hours or more per week may earn a pro rata share of vacation leave.

Sick Leave


Each full-time regular and probationary employee earns 3.75 hours of sick leave per biweekly pay period. Sick leave can be used for the employee, for a death in the immediate family, or to provide necessary care for an immediate family member. Part-time regular and probationary employees who work 20 hours or more per week may earn a pro rata share of sick leave.

For those employees who are members of the North Carolina Local Government Employees' Retirement System, one month of retirement credit is allowed for each twenty days of sick leave accrued in an employee’s sick leave account at the time of their retirement.