Board of Commissioners


On September 22 of 1868, three of the five newly elected Board of Commissioners took their oaths of office to form the first Board of Commissioners in Onslow County. For over 138 years, the Onslow County Board of Commissioners has served as the elected governing Board of our county.

Elected Body

Each of the seven Commissioners is elected at-large meaning that they represent the entire county population. Each member serves a two or four year staggered term. 

During their first meeting in December of each year, the Board elects one of its members to serve as their Chairman and one to serve as Vice Chairman.

Meet the Board


         Tim Foster, Chairman

         Robin Knapp, Vice Chairman

         Royce Bennett, Commissioner

        Paul Buchanan, Commissioner

Lisa Carpenter,  Commissioner

         Walter Scott, Commissioner