Fire/Rescue Commission


  • 5:30 p.m. on the third Thursday of each month
  • Onslow County Emergency Operations Center
    1180 Commons Drive
    Jacksonville, NC 


Mr. Charles Fountain - Fire Representative
Mr. Wayne Thomas - Fire Representative
Mr. Jeremy Foster - Fire Representative
Mr. Marcus Allen - Rescue Representative 
Mr. Matthew Hayslip - Rescue Representative 
Mr. Mike Caley - Rescue Representative
Mr. Curtis Hildt - Member At Large
Mr. Norman Bryson - Director of Emergency Services
Mr. Lee Hoffman - Insurance Representative 
Commissioner Robin Knapp
Mr. David McCole - Finance Director


The County's only official advisory body on issues related to fire and rescue services shall be the Fire/Rescue Commission.  The Purpose of the Fire/Rescue Commission shall be:  To plan for the protection of the lives and property of the citizens of Onslow County as efficiently and effectively as possible, given limited resources and including response for both fire and rescue.

According to the resolution establishing the Fire/Rescue Commission, the purpose of the board is to "act as advisors to the Board of Commissioners and the fire and rescue agencies regarding financial, administrative, and operational recommendations."